roach dome

So I haven’t blogged in a few days, but that’s because Danny’s mom was in town over the weekend.  We spent three days trying to find local attractions that were both uniquely Houston and free (or cheap).  This was much easier when I lived in DC.  I suppose there are plenty of free things to do in the Bayou City, but many of them require being outside.  And seriously.  This summer is killing me.  It feels like the inside of a shoe out there.

We did, however, score some free tickets to the Houston Symphony, where we saw Blue Planet Live.  It was a great show, although I couldn’t look at the screen when the orca whales were torturing sea lion pups.  I know, I know.  Circle of life.  But these orcas?  They were jerkfaces.

But the music was beautiful, and I felt special because I know two of the musicians.  Aren’t I cultured?

On Saturday we headed to the Houston Museum of Natural History, where we wandered through the Cockrell Butterfly Center.  And because I am lazy, I am not going to narrate our experience in the butterfly house but instead post pictures with lazy lazy captions.  Excuse the mediocre quality of the images.  These were taken with the camera on my cell phone.

Cocoon Wall

The Cocoon Wall! Notice the hatching butterflies. The rows and rows of slimy cocoons are simultaneously beautiful and a little gross.

There are a few horrifying giant insect displays before you get to the butterflies.  I have to say, I was pleased they were repairing the Roach Dome.  Because really, who wants to be around a damaged roach dome?

There are a few horrifying giant insect displays before you get to the butterflies. I have to say, I was pleased they were repairing the Roach Dome. Because really, who wants to be around a damaged roach dome?

inside the butterfly house

inside the butterfly house

looking up

looking up

a Rice Paper butterfly

a Rice Paper butterfly

Danny and his mom looking appropriately delighted by the butterflies

Danny and his mom looking appropriately delighted by the butterflies

Charro the iguana is plotting his revenge on all of the tourists who take pictures of him and comment on his jowls.  A sign attached to his cage promised that, in the future, Charro will be allowed to roam freely along the paths of the butterfly house.  This is when Houstonians will feel the wrath of Charro.

Charro the iguana is plotting his revenge on all of the tourists who take pictures of him and comment on his jowls. A sign attached to his cage promised that, in the future, Charro will be allowed to roam freely along the paths of the butterfly house. This is when Houstonians will feel the wrath of Charro.

2 thoughts on “roach dome

    • I think you would look very classy next to an iguana named Charro. But then you would be the Iguana Lady of Grundy.

Leave a Reply

