in which carrots posts a photo essay of the beach

So I haven’t been blogging because — despite the Weather Channel’s efforts to the contrary — we have been having wonderful weather here in Surfside Beach, South Carolina.

Tuesday was windy and cold, but Monday and yesterday were absolutely beautiful.  I’ve been spending the mornings sunbathing while finishing up Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book and starting Betty Smith’s Joy in the Morning, the afternoons eating turkey-on-bagel sandwiches and watermelon while watching the Style network (sweet, sweet premium cable!), and the evenings drinking riesling out on the balcony and talking to Danny about topics deep and shallow.  We talked over what we’ll do next spring if I don’t get a desirable tenure-track job, and we’ve thought about how his year in Iraq changed our relationship, but we’ve also decided that the annoying couple at the bookstore where we stopped for a sketchpad for Danny looked like a brother and sister.  And maybe they were both husband and wife AND brother and sister, and in that case he would be called a “brusband.”

The minor sunburn that I absolutely can’t avoid as a redhead is gone, and now I have the illusion of tan that comes with a million freckles.  I’ve eaten my share of junk food from the yummy gift basket Dad and Linda left for us, but I’ve also been out running on the beach twice.  I am very proud of myself for exercising at all while on vacation.

All in all then, a good time is being had by all.  This afternoon Brad and Heather arrive for a short stay until we leave on Saturday afternoon.  We’re going to drink margaritas and grill hamburgers and corn, and I’m very excited.  Until then, a few pics:

Lighthose II! Our unit is on the bottom, on the left.

Danny leaving to play golf

Danny leaving to play golf

my beach reading setup

my beach reading setup

my beach bum cut-offs

my beach bum cut-offs

sunning in Danny's Adidas hat, which is now mine

sunning in Danny's Adidas hat, which is now mine

One thought on “in which carrots posts a photo essay of the beach

  1. Pingback: kiddie pools | running with carrots

Leave a Reply

