beach beach beach beach beach

Danny and I are going to the beach house!  During the first week of May, I can drink my coffee on a balcony in Surfside Beach, South Carolina, looking out at this:

beach-house

Danny and I haven’t been on vacation since our honeymoon — that’s about two and a half years, which I know isn’t ridiculous, but it seems like forever.  We’ve been home to Charlotte to visit family and friends, which is always great, but not the same, and after such a stressful year I think we need to get away.

I am so excited about this beach trip that I’ve been having trouble focusing on anything but beach-related topics.  It is therefore unfortunate that I have no beach-related chapter in my dissertation.

More than anything, I am looking forward to sitting on the beach reading something that doesn’t make my brain work very hard.  Before we leave, I’m going to buy a copy of the latest Newbery Award winner, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman.  That’ll be something Danny might be interested in, as well, since he’s been reading Gaiman’s graphic novels for a while.  But that shouldn’t take me very long, and I’m at a loss as to what else to bring for beach reading.  Lately, I’ve been reading either children’s and young adult literature or Victorian novels, and while I enjoy reading both, I’d like something different for the trip.  Something meant for grown-ups and written within the past fifty years (although I’m not averse to contemporary fiction set in Victorian England.)

I’ve been wanting to read Drood by Dan Simmons, but I haven’t read the Dickens novel it draws from, and it seems like I should do that first.  Pride and Prejudice and Zombies has, huzzah, been released, and I might bring that along.  Michael Chabon has been on my list for quite some time — I haven’t read any of his stuff — but is he beach reading?

But, blog readers, do you have any suggestions?  I don’t really read romances or mystery novels, not because I have attitude about them but because I don’t really enjoy them.  I’m also kind of averse to any book that is entitled The [Something’s] Wife or The [Something’s] Daughter or The [Something] Club, as these books are taking over the world and soon we will all be buried underneath an enormous pile of mediocre literature.  What do you recommend to accompany a floppy hat and a beer on the beach?

11 thoughts on “beach beach beach beach beach

    • I’m not sure about the Omnivore’s Dilemma. I know it makes me an irresponsible eater, but I like to enjoy my processed food occasionally without being haunted by where it came from. Although I have to say, the fresh foods you and Allison get at the farmer’s market always look delicious and make me want to be more responsible.

      I haven’t read any Michael Palin — I’ll have to check him out. Thanks for the recommendations!

      • Random background on Michael Palin’s books – they’re more of an ‘additional information and stories which didn’t make it into the television series’ companion piece to his BBC-TV work. I’ve mostly seen the shows first and read the books second, but both are worthwhile. His approach is of a human-scale non touristy way to experience/learn about various parts of the world, from the Himalayas to the Sahara to a re-creation of Around the World in 80 Days. And, being a former Monty Python, his perspective includes sufficient humor to keep things entertaining.

        The TV shows are available on the popular bittorrent sites.

  1. I know it’s an Oprah book club selection, but Eat, Pray, Love makes me feel dangerously travel-y. The only other selections I have at the moment are on the topic of qualitative research, which I’m sure you wouldn’t want to read on the toilet let alone at the beach.

    • Thanks for the recommendation! And I am not turned off by an Oprah selection. She did pick East of Eden, after all. Which is AMAZING.

  2. Vee! Have you read “The Cider House Rules?” It is my all-time fave. I also think you would enjoy “A Walk in the Woods” by Bill Bryson, if you haven’t read it. We will have to discuss this further on the phone. 🙂

    • I actually have read The Cider House Rules. I used to keep it next to the register when I worked at Media Play and read it between customers. I put it in a customers bag by accident TWICE. So now there are two people out there have free copies.

      I haven’t read “A Walk in the Woods,” though.

      In any case, we do need to talk. Sorry if I was a bum on the phone last time, pre-cookie chaos. I’m so out of it lately.

  3. don’t hate! the time traveler’s wife was the bomb diggity! i would recommend it. also i just finished “american wife” by curtis sittenfeld which is basically the laura bush story and it was awesome. i am not all about being defined as someone’s wife, but those two books were the shiz, despite their titles.

    • I admit — my comment about titles is a completely uninformed generalization. I don’t think I’ve actually read anything with that title. There are just so MANY of them. I have had my eye on American Wife, though. I’m glad to hear it’s good!

Leave a Reply

