in which carrots ignores the problem

So I haven’t been blogging because I’m depressed about some job-related issues.  I’ve had to explain them over and over again to many people, some who are genuinely concerned about my personal and professional well being and some who probably care less and are totally faking it.  I’m just emotionally and mentally exhausted by the whole thing.  And job issues aren’t resolved yet, so I shouldn’t write about it at all.

Instead of thinking about it , then, I’m going to do a

What are your middle names?
Mine is Marie, like almost every other Catholic girl.  Danny’s is Gilbert.  In some circles he is known as Gilby.

How long have you been together?
We’ve been together for, oh lordy, ten years.  We’ve been married for a little over two years.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
I met Danny at work when we were both at Media Play in Charlotte.  Before we started dating, I only knew him marginally as the artist who worked in the back.  I was very jealous of his mini-fridge and his ability to make his own hours.

Who asked whom out?
He asked me.  And then he was very late picking me up, about 45 minutes.  I bring this up every time I mention our first date, not because I’m angry but because I think it’s funny.

How old are each of you?
I’m 27, and he’s 30.  The three-and-half-year age difference was very scandalous when I was in high school and he was in college.

Whose siblings do you see the most?
We only see family when we travel back to Charlotte, and then we see everyone at the same time.  So we see both families pretty infrequently, unfortunately.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
Right now, probably employment.  Namely finding gainful employment somewhere other than Texas, in a place that works for both of us.  But as I started this meme to stop thinking about the job market, I am going to stop there.

Did you go to the same school?
Nope.  He was at UNC-Charlotte when we started dating, and I was a senior in high school.  Then I went to American University in Washington, DC.  During my senior year he joined the Army.  It wasn’t until I started graduate school at Rice and he was returned to his station at Fort Hood in Killeen, Texas after being deployed in Iraq for a year that we were finally in the same state again.  We weren’t in the same city again until after we got married.

Are you from the same home town?
Well, sort of.  We both consider ourselves from Charlotte now.  But Danny was born in Detroit, and I was born in Richmond.

Who is smarter?
Danny is better at anything involving numbers or space: distances, directions, finances, really any math-related activity.  I’m better at writing, spelling, literature.  We’re both creative in our own ways.

Who is the most sensitive?
Ugh definitely me.  This is exacerbated by Danny’s very logical side.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
Most often, probably Jason’s Deli.  Because once in a while my Ford Family Gene cries out for Red Meat, and I require a Beefeater sandwich.  Once I’m stuffed with beef we go across the street and browse Half Price Books.  When we can, there are a few faves in Houston, like Grotto or Smith and Wollensky (which we can never afford) or Barnaby’s or this Thai place in the Village… I can never remember the name.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
We went on a cruise to Mexico, Grand Cayman, and Jamaica.  Someday we will go to the UK together, so I earn my status as a REAL nineteenth-century literature scholar by visiting the British Library.  And so he can gaze longingly at Saint Andrews and dream of being able to afford to play there.

Who has the craziest exes?
I vote him.

Who has the worst temper?
Probably me, due to the whole sensitive thing.  But when Danny gets mad he gets pretty mad.  And when he’s really mad, his southern accent becomes more pronounced.

Who does the cooking?
Usually me, although Danny always makes the hamburgers.   Mmmmmmm Danny hamburgers.

Who is the neat-freak?
Oh lord definitely me.  Danny claims that I put things away “while he’s still using them.”  But I claim that you can’t “still be using” something for two weeks at a time.

Who is more stubborn?
I insist that Danny is, but he would say that this insistence is yet another example of my unmatched stubbornness.

Who hogs the bed?
Danny.  He is a super-active sleeper, and more than once I’ve been smacked in the face by a flailing limb.

Who wakes up earlier?
If we don’t have work or some other obligation in the morning, Danny sleeps later than me.  But because I’m a grad student and only have to get up for work twice a week, Danny is usually up first.

Where was your first date?
We went to TGI Friday’s for dessert and saw “The Avengers” with Uma Thurman, which was a terrible movie.  I’m glad that the terribleness of the movie did not turn out to be a bad omen for our relationship.

Who is more jealous?
I don’t think either one of us is particularly jealous.  It’s probably a function of the fact that we did the long distance thing for so long.

How long did it take to get serious?
Well, I was only seventeen when we started dating, so it couldn’t get serious too fast.

Who eats more?
Not sure.  Danny can put away a Chipotle burrito faster than me, but I can hold my own in every other department.

Who does the laundry?
Me.  But he kills bugs, even radioactive Texas cockroaches.  So maybe we’re even.

Who’s better with the computer?
I think Danny assumes that he’s better.  But I’m not too shabby.  Although he does know how to use a lot of programs that I never use, like Photoshop and Illustrator.

Who drives when you are together?
Usually Danny.  I don’t really like driving at night.  Or in the rain.  Or on any occasion that might call for parallel parking or navigating downtown roads.  Oh, and I have a terrible sense of direction.  So really, it’s just easier if Danny drives.

3 thoughts on “in which carrots ignores the problem

  1. Patu Thai in the village is pretty fantastic–is that the one?

    Also: I saw The Avengers on a date when I was in high school. I’m glad someone else has suffered through that.

    Sorry to hear the job search is being a bummer. You of all people deserve the smoothest and most awesome transitions and I’m annoyed that the universe isn’t aligning quickly enough to make that happen. Would a trip to the zoo help? I can get you in free on a Monday or Tuesday and Jason can do likewise on Saturdays and Sundays.

  2. Funny

    hi v,

    been a while since i commented (forgot my lj handle/password, in fact), although i read regularly. i love your wit. thanks for sharing. and i’m still sending good vibes.

    peace and love,
    bdw

  3. Pingback: Love Day Survey | bugsii

Leave a Reply

