I have been working on a syllabus for a freshman composition class for a few days now, and I’m having a really hard time.  And this afternoon, I’ve finally put my finger on why.

I’ve been blaming my difficulties on the fact that I have never taught comp.  But the truth is, I’ve never taken comp, either.  I tested out of it with my AP English classes.  While working in various writing centers, I’ve helped many students complete assignments for composition classes, but I’ve never actually been in one, teaching or learning.

This is a problem.

Leave a Reply

