I finally got around to booking a hotel for the MLA Convention.  So if I don’t end up with any interviews, I will have a nice hotel room where I can mope.  So for the next month or so I’ll be budgeting for my stay in San Francisco, as well as for a new haircut and a new suit so I don’t look so much like a run-down graduate student.

Despite such budgeting, I’ve been splurging a little (just a little) on a few books.  I recently joined a listserv on children’s literature based out of Rutgers University’s Department of Childhood Studies, also known as the Location of my Dream Job, and I’ve been reading the arguments of an enormous gaggle of children’s librarians, literary scholars, and authors about children’s literature more contemporary than most of the texts I study.*  And I’ve realized that if I’m going to apply for a position in children’s literature –and not specifically nineteenth-century children’s literature — I should probably refresh  my memory about some of this stuff.  So I bought some of the children’s books I haven’t read since they were age appropriate for me, like Tuck Everlasting and Bridge to Terabithia and a few Roald Dahl books.  Fun!  While I probably don’t need to, I’m considering rereading the Anne of Green Gables series.  And an account of L. M. Montgomery’s life and her books was recently published for the centenary of the publication of Green Gables.  Sadly, however, there are also a lot of recent accounts about Montgomery’s mental illness and suicide

Anyway.  I’m rambly today.

So, blogging community, what books do you remember fondly from your childhood?  What should I reread?
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________
* Philip Pullman, the author of The Golden Compass and the rest of His Dark Materials, is actually an active contributor!

6 thoughts on “

  1. The time is ALWAYS right to read Anne.

    My sister mentioned something about the mental illness thing, and I have yet to investigate it. That makes me sad, L.M. is still my all-time favorite author for sentimental reasons.

  2. children’s books

    Harriet the Spy was the epitome of girl power. I don’t know which Roald Dahl books you got, but my favorite was Matilda. And, I know it’s not from my childhood, but I totally love the Harry Potter series.

    • Re: children’s books

      I somehow managed to make it through grade school without reading Harriet the Spy, so I’ve added that one to my list. But I was an avid lover of Matilda.

      Thanks for your comments! Mind if I ask you to unmask yourself?

Leave a Reply

