I have sweet, sweet internet for a brief moment! 

I’m sure it will go out in about 15 minutes.  Ever since the storm on Friday it’s been off and on.  Mostly off.  And of course no one is coming to look at it until Tuesday.  TUESDAY.  I have to live without satisfying my email-checking addiction for 48 more hours.  I’ve never been so grateful that I’m working at Career Services this summer, just because they have reliable access to Slate and my daily online crossword puzzle.

I also realized how often I use the web during my writing process… usually to check if Fondren has a book I’d like to check out later, or to doublecheck a publication date on ::gasp:: Wikipedia.  (Bob Patten, somewhere, just groaned.)  My laptop’s screen is now covered with digital stickie notes with internet queries I’ll check out at work tomorrow.

Wow.  My life is boring right now. 

I suspected the summer would be tedious, as my schedule is filled with either work-for-money or work-toward-graduation.  The latter is moving slowly but moving forward, which is more than it was doing earlier, in the spring.  I’m almost finished a chapter section on boys’ adventure stories, and while this means I have to write about British imperialism — one of my least favorite things to do — it also means I get to read lots of sensational, bloody pirate literature.  I just finished, for example, R. M. Ballantyne’s Coral Island, which is full of gratuitous violence, racist descriptions of natives, and plucky boyish heroes!  The protagonist, Ralph, is rather vanilla pudding compared to the other characters, but he gets to witness all the particularly gory moments among the islanders.  Like when one tribe decides to launch their 300-seater war canoe by rolling it over their enemies, who they’ve hogtied and arranged as a sort of human runway.  Why?  Who knows.  But it’s bloody!

Next is a section on Treasure Island, which I’m kind of looking forward to, because Long John Silver is one of my favorite literary characters of all time.  Because (a) his face is as “big as a ham” and (b) his eyes are like “crumbs of glass.”  And he’s just badass.  The blind pirate Pew comes in as a close secone for feistiness.

Hmph.  Internet just went out.  I’ll have to post this later.  Off to bed.

3 thoughts on “

  1. Head as big as a ham!!! I have to read this book! I think Dad tried to read it to me once long ago but now it MUST BE READ. Your dissertation is going to be so much of the awesomeness.

    • I do recommend a reread. It’s less than 200 pages, so it shouldn’t take long.

      I was a little disappointed when I reread it, actually, because I remember the description as Long John Silver’s face was “like a ham,” not “big as a ham.” “Like a ham” has a weird ambiguity that I really enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

