My Tomtoddy icon is crying because I am wide awake, which is unusual for me after 11:00 pm, since I am a premature curmudgeon.  I think I’m wide awake because my system is full of the caffeine-crazy painkillers I took to kill the Worst Migraine Ever.  Thus the Worst Migraine Ever not only ruined my sleep and well-being last nightbut will ruin my sleep schedule for the entire week.  Thanks a lot, Worst Migraine Ever.

So I will blog.  But be forewarned.  Nothing interesting is going on in my life.

The summer hasn’t been very productive thus far.  My 12:30 to 5:30 schedule at Career Services is less than amenable to dissertation progress, even though I’ve been up at 7:00 or 7:30 every weekday morning to get in a few hours at my desk before heading to campus.  By the time I get home in the evening, it’s nearly impossible to make myself work.  It’s not that I’ve had a particularly hard day at the office — if anything, they don’t have enough for me to do, which is sometimes worse — but sitting in front of a computer screen at home after sitting in front of a computer screen at the office is repulsive to me.  I’ve been trying to save less arduous tasks for the evenings, but it isn’t really working.  So even though I started the summer with high hopes for pumping out my Stevenson chapter draft within a month or two, it’s looking bleak.  I’ve written one section so far, which amounts to about 20 pages out of what will probably be at least 60 or 70 before I’m done.

BUT the section I have drafted is about miniature presses in the nineteenth century and the toy press Stevenson gave his stepson in California.  It’s a pretty interesting and quirky, actually, and I’ve discovered lots of fun advertisements, :

Working on this chapter is a little frustrating, because Stevenson is an author who wrote a lot about what it’s like to be an author, how he imagines authorship to work, what he thinks about children’s literature, collaboration, and the book trade.  I thought all of this material would be very useful, but in fact Stevenson has already said a lot of what I want to say about him, and I wish he would just shut up already.  SHUT UP, Stevenson.  (P.S. I love you.)

In any case, I probably won’t get much work done in the coming week, because I’m heading to North Carolina for my brother-in-law’s wedding.  And even in the down-time while my dad is at work and Danny is playing golf, I will be subject to the temptation that is my dad’s cable.  Bravo!  TLC!  TBS!  All easier on the mind than trying to put A Child’s Garden of Verses and Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde in the same dissertation chapter.

Still not tired, but off to bed anyway.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

