I finally figured out how podcasts work!

I know.  I’m a dinosaur when it comes to this stuff.  But it is still thrilling for me.  I subscribed to the free podcast for This American Life, which is the only NPR show I cannot listen to while working.  I get too caught up in the stories, and I find myself drifting off to the sweet nasal tones of Ira Glass instead of working on my dissertation.  Now I listen to the program while I’m at the gym, which has made my workouts a little more bearable.  I used to watch Martha Stewart Living, and I’m not ashamed, I tell you.  But it did tend to annoy other people in the gym, who usually want to watch more intelligent fare, like CNN.

I’ve been trying very hard to keep going to the gym this semester, and I’ve managed to go every other day.  I’ve only missed once.  Every once and a while Danny and I will head to Rice on a Sunday and run the perimeter trail, but for the most part I’ve been using the free gym at my apartment complex, which is much nicer now that the lady who spits on the machines moved out.

The disappointing thing about all of this exercise is that my physique has not changed in any way I can discern.  And I feel like I’ve been pretty patient.  Shouldn’t there be some sort of toning or tightening or shrinking after two months?  I’m not particularly trying to lose weight, just get in shape.  I’m not someone who gets a high from exercise, so if there are not any noticeable results, it’s really difficult to keep going.  This is complicated by the fact that my schedule is getting full.  I now work at the Houston Community College Writing Center two mornings per week, and I volunteer one morning a week at Catholic Charities.  And now… now… a new season of America’s Next Top Model has begun.  And let’s be honest.  Tyra-mail is a priority in my life.

In other news, I realized today that I will have to rewrite a few pages of the dissertation chapter I’m currently drafting, because I am definitely wrong.  Very wrong, in an embarrassing way.  It’s very disheartening, especially since writing those few pages almost killed me.  I’m hoping they were so difficult because they were, as aforementioned, oh so wrong, but in any case I’m trying to remember that even hitting the delete button can be considered progress sometimes.  And really, how can you get cranky when you’re reading Peter Pan?

HOOK (gripping the stave for support)  Who are you, stranger?  Speak.
PETER: (who is only too ready to speak)  I am Jas Hook, Captain of the Jolly Roger.
HOOK: (now white to the gills)  No, no, you are not.
PETER: Brimstone and gall, say that again and I’ll cast anchor in you.
HOOK:  If you are Hook, come tell me, who am I?
PETER: A codfish, only a codfish.
HOOK: (aghast)  A codfish?
SMEE: (drawing back from him)  Have we been captained all this time by a codfish?
STARKEY: It’s lowering our pride.

(III.i.103–13)

7 thoughts on “

  1. It is a lot easier to lose weight when you have a former family doctor for a dad and a mom who started her own personal training business. But if you want I can ask her for strategies that aim for specific results (she has articles and crap like that all over the house).

    And hm, I have no idea how podcasts work. The only reason I’d learn is to listen to Ricky Gervais make fun of Karl Pilkington on a more daily basis.

    • I actually am just whining. I don’t think I need to lose weight, and I should focus on the mental health and well-being aspects of working out. Plus it gives me an excuse to listen to sweet sweet NPR.

  2. You know, I bet you’re seeing benefits from your exercise that you don’t even notice. I bet you’re fitter and able to exercise longer now. I’m starting to use my elliptical machine seriously myself, and I can already see a lot happening after two weeks of really giving it my all.

    Also, I’m dead sure that your difficulties on that chapter were probably because of the wrongness. Whenever I have huge resistance to writing something and feel almost in pain because of it, it’s totally crap that I’m writing.

    • I think the difficulties were due to the wrongness. It flowed SO MUCH EASIER when I tweaked my argument. That pesky Pan.

      I’m impressed with your elliptical machine usage. Those things kick my butt.

  3. When I exercise regularly I need less sleep and less caffeine, and I have more energy. However, even when I trained for a half marathon I didn’t really see physical results.

    The only time I’ve seen real physical results from exercise (without dieting) was when I trained for the full marathon – I was working out 2+ hours a day 6 days a week, lifting weights, and running 30+ miles per week – I gained 5lbs of muscle and dropped a whole clothing size!

    But, don’t let the lack of physical results get you down – concentrate on the fact that you (hopefully) feel better.

    And also, podcasts are awesome 🙂

    • I do think there have been benefits to my workouts that are, perhaps, not as noticeable. I definitely think I sleep better.

      And you are amazing for training for a full marathon. I have a lot of running friends lately… You and Beth and Brian… and Tom, who was in our wedding.

      I’ve been meaning to leave a message on your Facebook page. Are you freelancing? That’s amazing! I’m sure it’s also a little scary. Danny is starting to do some illustration and design work on the side, as well, and I know he’s often nervous about where exactly he’s going with his art.

Leave a Reply

