It’s Lewis that loves little girls, not Louis!

For my gender and interdisciplinarity class, I’m required to choose a book I’m reading for my own research and write a “review of reviews,” or a summary and analysis of at least four reviews — from both academic and popular presses — including along the way my own opinion.

I choose to read Catherine Robson’s Men in Wonderland: The Lost Girlhood of the Victorian Gentleman.  Because honestly.  That is a fantastic title.  And it’s on my reading list for my comprehensive exams.

This weekend I finished the book (which was excellent) and began reading what other more qualified people think.  But oh lordy.  Two academic journals (TWO!) spelled Lewis Carroll’s name wrong.  And not Carroll, which I wouldn’t find so offensive, with all those double letters in there.  They spelled “Lewis” as “Louis.”  One of these journals was Nineteenth-Century Literature.  As an editorial fellow for SEL, I am offended at such carelessness.  Get it together, people.  Get it together.

In other news, Danny and I went to an exhibit at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston: The Masterpieces of French Painting from MOMA.  We had a great time, despite the fact that the people working at the museum gave us very difficult and very wrong directions to the exhibit.  There were a few Georges Seurat paintings.  I like Seurat, due to the little dots.  I appreciate the dots, and they remind me of middle school art classes, when your teacher shows you “A Sunday on La Grande Jatte” and then asks you to do the same thing with Crayola markers.

AND I got in for supah-cheap because MFAH loves Rice students.

2 thoughts on “It’s Lewis that loves little girls, not Louis!

Leave a Reply

